General remarks

In general, it can be stated that there were four distinct periods in the composition of the sonatas. This fact alone is unusual for a composer of his time. Unusual because fellow composers saw tonality as an essential renewal and devoted themselves entirely to it without having undergone major stylistic developments. That cannot be said in his case. Scarlatti had an intimate relationship with the not so long ago modality, which also explains his interest in Spanish folk music, which is also modal in nature.

As far as these four different periods are concerned, the following is a classification:

Scarlatti was not necessarily a polyphonic composer like Bach, for example. The polyphonic elements of his music are mostly limited to imitation except in the early period and in some compositions of the late period, these are fugues. These do not have the polyphonic rigor in the sense of Bach, the greatest polyphonist of all, but represent Scarlatti's views on polyphony. Noticeable is e.g. the Sonata K41 (To the score). The use of the second voice does not bring the theme as it "ought to be", but rather the counterpoint that is preferred in this case. That is against all laws of the fugue. However, this approach illustrates Scarlatti's views on musical freedom. Whenever he found it musically necessary, he "disregarded" the laws of tonality and formal theory already formulated by his contemporary Jean Philippe Rameau (1683-1764). He also saved this concept of freedom from the modality. Some Sonatas such as K30 (To the score) have a striking theme. The beginning of this fugue cannot be classified either tonally or modally when listening. Only in the fourth bar does the harmonic structure take shape. Therefore this joint was later called "cat fugue". Here are the first bars:

Example K30

Occasionally, fugues also appear in later periods, of which K417 (To the score) is a masterful example. This fugue is three-part at the beginning, but then changes to two-part, underlaid by a perpetuum mobile-like 8th note accompaniment (alla-breve time) in the left hand and, with its almost 5 minutes length, belongs to the sonatas of larger size. This sonata as well as K434 (To the score) show Scarlatti at the height of a very own polyphonic mastery.

During this first period the fashion dances of the time such as the minuet also appear a few times. Scarlatti's minuets are always short pieces of great melodic beauty. Later minuets, of which there are some, are already largely stylized and can no longer be easily recognized as minuets.

Scarlatti's music is always intended to be extremely rhythmic and therefore predestined for dance. From K96, (To the score) however, the Spanish dance forms have largely become the basis of his music. This is by far not just talking about flamenco, which Scarlatti got to know during his four-year stay in Seville and which has become an important source of inspiration for him. Dances like the Seguedilla (K239 (To the score), but also in K380(To the score) find their echo in his music. The same applies to the farmers' fanfares in the village, which appear as the main motif for the first time in K96. The "deadly sin" parallel fifths is also repeatedly used structurally, that is to say quite deliberately. All these elements come from the modality, in this case from Spanish folk music, which is also modal in character. It is Scarlatti's great achievement that he does not quote these elements, but has made them his own and seamlessly integrated them into his own style, which sees tonality and modality as a unique unity. This happened at a time when the "highly learned" composer colleagues could only muster a weary smile of contempt for folk music. Scarlatti was therefore the first composer ever to create national art music. It is a revolutionary act. However, it should always be kept in mind that the main emphasis is on "art music".

In addition, it is mainly at the beginning of the Spanish period that the greatest musical contrasts were set against each other in blocks without any transition, a way of seeing that also stems from the modality. There are major - minor, tonal - modal, polyphonic - homophonic, and sudden key changes, especially with half-closings (e.g. K174 (To the score): half-closure in G major, further on in E flat major). In this sonata, as in many others, there appears a cadence dominant - tonic, where the dominant seventh chord is a suspended chord that is not resolved. The fourth appears in place of the third:

Example K174

In the Gilbert edition bar 114 is missing. I am sure that this bar belongs here.

There is also an unexpected key change in Sonata K371 (To the score), from E flat major to F sharp major:

Example K371

The reason for this key change is that a sequence begins in F sharp major that leads back to the basic key via G sharp minor, B flat minor and E flat minor. So the sequence does not move away from the basic key, but begins at a remote point, from there to lead back to the basic key. This approach is again unique for the Baroque period; no other composer of that epoch used it.

Most of Scarlatti's sonatas are essentially two-part conceived. This serves the transparency and clarity of the music. Take K363 (To the score) as an example, a sonata that is consistently kept in two parts. To intensify the musical happening, there is sometimes a transition to three-part music, and now and then to chordal structures.

Sometimes Scarlatti goes over to three voices by lengthening the notes of a line so that they overlap, e.g. in K365 (To the score):

Example K365

In other sonatas, suspended chords are used structurally as main chords, e.g. in K141 (To the score):

Example K141

Another and no less important revolutionary act was the renewal of playing technique. These are examined in more detail in a separate chapter. Contemporaries have described his own playing as an experience of a previously unknown sonority. In part, this can be attributed to Scarlatti's technical inventions. After all, a larger part of the scope of the instrument was used simultaneously than ever before. This was done by constantly crossing the hands, through arpeggios, which sometimes ran through the entire range of the harpsichord at a rapid pace, and through the use of the aforementioned dissonant suspended chords, which, interestingly, were not resolved. The latter also points to a more modally oriented understanding of harmony. In addition, his playing style was certainly not staccato, because the fullness of the sound would have fizzled out, but legato and even molto legato. Furthermore, reference must be made to the way the appoggiaturas are played, the so-called "acciaccaturas". These were struck by Scarlatti at the same time as the main note, i.e. in each case as a dissonance. All these elements are the only way to explain the new richness of sound that so fascinated his contemporaries. If one considers that the greater part of Scarlatti's music is in two parts, this conclusion is undoubtedly justified.

Another argument in favor of the more modal understanding of music is that there are hardly any final chords in the sonatas and if so, then in the minor sonatas they are mostly minor chords and only rarely, as was the predominant practice of the time, major chords. Such final chords are most likely to be found in the first period. Most sonatas end with either a single note, an octave, or a double octave. So with a harmonic illusion that consists in the fact that the previous tones are still in the ear. Often the upper closing tone is prepared by a long lead on the seventh (tension - solution), while the lower closing tone already sounds. As an example, the final bars of K173 (To the score) in the sounding version:

Example K173

As far as the appoggiaturas are concerned, two forms can be distinguished:

The acciaccatura appears in passages of notes of the same value and is struck together with the note following it, which in any case means a dissonance. An example from K121 (G minor - Allegrissimo) (To the score)::

Example K121

The way of playing is as follows:

Another of many examples for the acciaccatura can be found in K124 (G major - Allegro) (To the score):

124

The way of playing is as follows:

Example K124

The "rule of thumb" for the melodic appoggiatura is:

The note value of such a appoggiatura is either 1/3 or 1/4 of the main note, depending on its length. An example for both forms:

K173 (b minor - Allegro) (To the score)

The way of playing is as follows:

Example K173

In this case the main note has the value of 4 sixteenths. So the appoggiatura gets the value of a sixteenth and the main note is shortened by this value. The point of such appoggiaturas is that the agogic accent remains on the main tone and in such cases is not on the beat. This ensures lively rhythmic and sound patterns.

K181 (A-Dur - Allegro) (To the score)

Example K181

The way of playing is as follows:

Example K181

The main note has a length of three eighth notes. The appoggiatura is given the value of an eighth note and the main note is shortened by this value. What has been said above applies to the agogic accents. The main rhythmic motif in this sonata is this:

181 rhythm

This sonata has a very clearly defined second theme, which appears six times in all, on five different pitches. Here is the example for the first and second appearance:

Example K181

Before his Spanish period, Scarlatti had a harpsichord in use, the size of which was enlarged downwards by a fourth. In K6 (To the score) and K7 (To the score) or also in K26 (To the score) e.g. this can be seen clearly.

From the Spanish sonatas (i.e. from K96) a larger size of the harpsichord was prescribed than the usual one (C-c'''), upwards by a fifth and downwards by a fourth (G'- g''') . It is well known that the Spanish court had many instruments, including clavichords, the forerunners of the piano. The only instrument at the Spanish court that actually had the prescribed range is a one-manual harpsichord. So it can be assumed that this was Scarlatti's favorite instrument. From K387 the range of this harpsichord has been expanded in depth to F'. There was no such instrument at the Portuguese court. By the way, why should a composer prescribe tones that an instrument does not contain? His sonatas from K96 onwards were probably composed for this instrument. Unfortunately, it is unknown which instrument Scarlatti used in his four years in Seville. Due to its size, it cannot be determined exactly from which sonata Scarlatti stayed at the Spanish court.

Another indication of Scarlatti's more modal thinking are the already briefly mentioned parallels of fifths, which appear regular and structural from the start and which are known to be forbidden in tonality. It is nonsense to believe that a composer with his qualities should so often "unconsciously" have made such "mistakes". These parallel fifths have been used very deliberately. An outstanding example, representative of many, from K96 (D major - Allegrissimo) (To the score)::

Example K96

As an example of the mental state of certain musical circles, a rape at this point, which has been downloaded from the Internet and is obviously taken from a printed edition, is given here:

Example K96

The "editor" is a music theorist who has felt the need to "improve" Scarlatti's "primitive mistakes" (= parallel fifths). Music theorists are characterized by the fact that they understand nothing about the tonality and absolutely nothing about the modality. So they constantly have to explain and do not know what to do. So he "composed" what, in his opinion, Scarlatti must have had in mind. Fortunately, Scarlatti himself does not seem to have been able to implement these ideas for which he was accused. The result is - to put it mildly - a disregard for the great composer and a deliberate falsification and rape of his work. Unfortunately, the source is not given on the Internet. However, it is probably an older edition, which can be deduced from the fact that the sonatas have all possible titles, just not the only correct one, namely "Sonata".

Another example of structural parallel fifths can be found in Sonata K394 (To the score), which will be discussed later.

Other, more hidden examples can be found e.g. in K21 (To the score) in bars 30 and 34..

In some sonatas there are cadenza-like passages such as in K33 (To the score) or again in K394, where a real cadenza appears, a unique piece in Scarlatti's work and also for the period. These cadences and cadenza-like passages can be freely interpreted rhythmically.

In some sonatas such as K33 (To the score), K101 (To the score) or K155 (To the score) one encounters strange unison passages. In the case of K101, when they first appear, these explain the Spanish gypsy scale, which is structured differently than the Hungarian one. The Spanish gypsy scale is an alteration of the Phrygian mode:

Example Spanish gipsy scale

E and A are the main notes, with E being the root note. That, too, comes from the modality, of course. The tones G and D have been altered in order to act as leading tones to the main tones. The very fact that the Spanish gypsy scale is older than the tonality proves its modality. Here is the example from K101 (A major - Allegro)::

Example K101

Incidentally, the interaction between dissonants and consonants is one of the most masterful qualities in Scarlatti's music.

The "normal" division of the music of his time into four or eight bar periods is replaced by Scarlatti more often than was the case with other composers by asymmetrical periods, i.e. three or five bar periods, e.g. This becomes clear in the example from K101. The repetition of the first four-bar period is extended to a five-bar period. Such expansions or reductions in periods of several bars occur very frequently and are one of Scarlatti's stylistic means, who used this stylistic device to increase musical tension. This is mainly due to Scarlatti's unconventional thinking, but it is also reflected in Spanish folk music. Indeed, he was the most unconventional of all composers of his era and therefore probably the most interesting. An example from K383 (To the score) shows the irregularity in the division into bars:

Example K383

The repetition of the first seven-bar period is shortened to four bars. This is followed by a five-bar period, which is extended in its repetition to a seven-bar period and then concluded by a final bar.

Regarding the metrics of the sonatas, it can be said that with Scarlatti the ternary meters are by far the majority (3/8, 3/4, 6/8, sometimes 9/8 or 12/8, with 3/8 time being the most common appears). The hemiole 3/4 appears regularly on 6/8, e.g. in K96 (at the end), in K153 or K159, in the case of 3/8 time, distributed over two bars. As an example, the last bars of K96:

Example K96

In the example above from the same sonata, note the hemiolas in the upper part.

There is a theory that the ternary element comes closest to the basic human feeling. Other theories deny this. Perhaps there are certain differences from people to people. Be that as it may, there seems to be an indication of this in the case of Scarlatti. Other composers in later epochs also had a preference for ternary meters, for example Frederic Chopin or Alexander Skriabin.

Another important element in Scarlatti's music is perhaps best described as "non-stop music". The flow of the music only comes to a rest on the closing notes at half and full closing. In some sonatas, however, several semicircles appear. A short period, consisting of a few bars, is repeated once or twice, each time a whole tone higher, occasionally a whole tone lower each time. These passages usually appear at the beginning of the second block and appear in every period in Scarlatti's compositions.

 

back

Im Allgemeinen kann festgestellt werden, dass es bei der Komposition der Sonaten vier deutlich zu unterscheidende Perioden gegeben hat. Schon diese Tatsache ist ungewöhnlich für einen Komponisten seiner Zeit. Ungewöhnlich darum, weil Komponistenkollegen die Tonalität als eine wesentliche Erneuerung gesehen und sich ihrer völlig gewidmet haben, ohne stilistisch große Entwicklungen durchlaufen zu haben. Das kann in seinem Falle so nicht gesagt werden. Scarlatti hatte ein inniges Verhältnis zur noch nicht so lange zurückliegenden Modalität, was auch sein Interesse an der spanische Volksmusik erklärt, die ebenfalls modaler Art ist.

Was nun diese vier zu unterscheidenden Perioden betrifft, folgt hier zuerst einmal eine Einteilung:

Scarlatti war kein unbedingt polyphon denkender Komponist wie etwa Bach es war. Die polyphonen Elemente seiner Musik beschränken sich meistens auf Imitation außer in der frühen Periode und in einigen Kompositionen der späten Periode, es handelt sich hierbei um Fugen. Diese weisen nicht die polyphonische Strenge im Sinne Bachs auf, dem größten Polyphonisten überhaupt, sondern repräsentieren Scarlattis Ansichten zur Polyphonie. Auffallend ist z.B. die Fuge K41. Der Einsatz der zweiten Stimme bringt nicht das Thema, wie es sich "gehören" würde, sondern den in diesem Falle vorgezogenen Kontrapunkt. Das ist gegen alle Gesetze der Fuge. Diese Vorgehensweise verdeutlicht jedoch Scarlattis Ansichten über musikalische Freiheit. Wann immer er es für musikalisch nötig befunden hat, hat er die damals durch seinen Zeitgenossen Jean Philippe Rameau (1683-1764) schon formulierten Gesetze der Tonalität und der Formenlehre "missachtet". Auch diesen Freiheitsbegriff hat er aus der Modalität herübergerettet. Einige Fugen wie etwa K30 besitzen eine auffallende Thematik. Der Anfang dieser Fuge ist beim Hören weder tonal noch modal einzuordnen. Erst im vierten Takt nimmt die harmonische Struktur Gestalt an. Daher wurde diese Fuge später "Katzenfuge" genannt. Hier die ersten Takte:

Gelegentlich erscheinen auch in späteren Perioden Fugen, von denen K417 ein meisterliches Beispiel ist. Diese Fuge ist am Anfang dreistimmig angelegt, wandelt sich dann aber zur Zweistimmigkeit, unterlegt von einer perpetuum-mobile-artigen 8tel-Begleitung (alla-breve-Takt) in der linken Hand und gehört mit ihren beinahe 5 Minuten Länge zu den Sonaten von größerem Umfang. Diese Sonate wie auch K434 zeigen Scarlatti auf der Höhe einer ganz eigenen polyphonischen Meisterschaft.

In dieser ersten Periode erscheinen auch einige Male die Modetänze der Zeit wie etwa das Menuett. Scarlattis Menuette sind immer kurze Stücke von großer melodischer Schönheit. Spätere Menuette, von denen es einige gibt, sind schon weitgehend stilisiert und nicht mehr ohne weiteres als Menuette zu erkennen.

Dabei ist Scarlattis Musik immer äußerst rhythmisch gedacht und somit zum Tanz prädestiniert. Ab K96 jedoch sind die spanischen Tanzformen größtenteils die Grundlage seiner Musik geworden. Hierbei ist bei weitem nicht nur die Rede vom Flamenco, den Scarlatti bei seinem vierjährigen Aufenthalt in Sevilla kennen gelernt hat und der für ihn ein wichtiger Brunnen der Inspiration geworden ist. Auch Tänze wie die Seguedilla (K239, aber auch in K380) finden in seiner Musik ihren Widerhall. Dasselbe gilt für etwa die Dorfsfanfaren der Bauern, die zum ersten Male in K96 als Hauptmotiv erscheinen. Auch die "Todsünde" Quintenparallelen wird immer wieder strukturell eingesetzt, das heißt ganz bewusst. Alle diese Elemente stammen also aus der Modalität, in diesem Falle aus der spanischen Volksmusik, die ja ebenfalls modal von Charakter ist. Es ist die große Leistung Scarlattis, dass er diese Elemente nicht zitiert, sondern sie sich zu eigen gemacht und nahtlos in seinen eigenen Stil eingefügt hat, der damit Tonalität und Modalität zu einer einzigartigen Einheit verbunden sieht. Das geschah in einer Zeit, in der die "hochgelehrten" Komponistenkollegen für die Volksmusik nur ein müdes Lächeln der Verachtung aufbringen konnten. Immerhin konnte er sich der ungeteilten Wertschätzung von Händel und auch von Bach erfreuen. Scarlatti war also der erste Komponist überhaupt, der eine nationale Kunstmusik geschaffen hat. Das ist eine revolutionäre Tat. Dabei sollte jedoch immer bedacht werden, dass der Hauptakzent auf "Kunstmusik" liegt.

Dazu kommt noch, dass hauptsächlich zu Beginn der spanischen Periode die größten musikalischen Gegensätze ohne jeden Übergang blockartig gegeneinander gesetzt wurden, eine Sehensweise, die auch aus der Modalität stammt. Es gibt hier um Dur - Moll, um tonal - modal, um polyphon - homophon, um plötzliche Tonartwechsel, vor allem bei Halbschlüssen (z.B. K174: Halbschluss G-Dur, weiter in Es-Dur). In dieser Sonate erscheint wie auch in vielen anderen auch eine Kadenz Dominante - Tonika, wo der Dominantseptimakkord ein Vorhaltakkord ist, der nicht aufgelöst wird. An Stelle der Terz erscheint die Quarte:

In der Gilbert-Ausgabe fehlt Takt 114. Ich bin sicher, dass dieser Takt hierhin gehört.

Auch in der Sonate K371 kommt ein unerwarteter Tonartwechsel vor, und zwar von Es-Dur nach Fis-Dur:

Der Grund dieses Tonartwechsels besteht darin, dass auf Fis-Dur eine Sequenz beginnt, die über gis-moll, b-moll und es-moll wieder zur Grundtonart führt. Die Sequenz bewegt sich also nicht von der Grundtonart weg, sondern beginnt an einem entlegenen Punkt, um von dort zur Grundtonart zurück zu führen. Diese Vorgehensweise ist auch wiederum einzigartig für die Barockzeit, kein anderer Komponist jener Epoche hat so verfahren.

Die meisten Sonaten Scarlattis sind im Wesen zweistimmig konzipiert. Dieses dient der Transparenz und Klarheit der Musik. Als Beispiel diene K363, eine Sonate, die konsequent rein zweistimmig gehalten ist. Zur Intensivierung des musikalischen Geschehens wird manchmal zur Dreistimmigkeit übergegangen, hin und wieder auch zu akkordischen Strukturen.

So manches Mal geht Scarlatti zur Dreistimmigkeit über, indem er die Töne einer Linie so verlängert, dass sie einander überlagern, z.B. in K365:

In anderen Sonaten werden die Vorhaltakkorde strukturell als Grundakkorde gebraucht, z.B. in K141:

Eine andere und nicht weniger wichtige revolutionäre Tat bestand in den Erneuerungen der Spieltechnik. Diese werden in einem eigenen Kapitel näher untersucht. Zeitgenossen haben sein eigenes Spiel beschrieben als ein Erlebnis einer bis dahin unbekannten Klangfülle. Zum Teil kann dies den technischen Erfindungen Scarlattis zugeschrieben werden. Immerhin wurde ein größerer Teil des Umfanges des Instrumentes gleichzeitig gebraucht als jemals zuvor. Das geschah durch ständiges Überkreuzen der Hände, durch Arpeggios, die manchmal den gesamten Umfang des Cembalos in rasantem Tempo durchlaufen haben und durch den Gebrauch der schon genannten dissonanten Vorhaltakkorde, die interessanterweise nicht aufgelöst wurden. Das Letztere deutet auch wieder auf ein mehr modal gerichtetes Harmonieverständnis hin. Daneben war seine Spielart sicher nicht staccato, weil so die Klangfülle doch wiederum verpufft wäre, sondern legato und sogar molto legato. Des Weiteren muss hier auf die Spielweise der Vorschläge hingewiesen werden, die so genannten "acciaturas". Diese wurden durch Scarlatti gleichzeitig mit dem Hauptton angeschlagen, also in jedem Falle als Dissonanz. Aus allen diesen Elementen und nur so ist die neue Klangfülle zu erklären, die seine Zeitgenossen, unter anderem seinen Freund fürs Leben, Händel, so fasziniert hat. Bedenkt man dabei, dass der größere Teil von Scarlattis Musik zweistimmig gehalten ist, so ist diese Folgerung ohne Zweifel berechtigt.

Für das mehr modale Begreifen der Musik spricht auch, dass es in den Sonaten kaum Schlussakkorde gibt und wenn, dann sind sie in den Moll-Sonaten meistens Mollakkorde und nur selten, wie es die überwiegende Praxis der Zeit war, Durakkorde. Man findet solche Schlussakkorde am ehesten noch in der ersten Periode. Die meisten Sonaten enden entweder mit einem Einzelton, einer Oktave oder einer Doppeloktave. Also mit einer harmonischen Illusion, die darin besteht, dass die vorhergehenden Töne noch im Gehör liegen. Oft wird der obere Schlusston durch einen langen Vorhalt auf der Septime vorbereitet (Spannung - Lösung), während der untere Schlusston schon klingt. Als Beispiel die Schlusstakte von K173 in der klingenden Version:

Was nun die Vorschläge betrifft, so sind hier zwei Formen zu unterscheiden:

Die acciatura erscheint in Passagen von Noten gleichen Wertes und wird zusammen mit dem ihr folgenden Ton angeschlagen, was in jedem Falle eine Dissonanz bedeutet. Ein Beispiel aus K121 (g-moll - Allegrissimo):

Die Spielweise dieser Stelle ist als folgt:

Ein anderes von vielen Beispielen für die acciatura ist in K124 (G-Dur - Allegro) zu finden:

Die Spielweise ist als folgt:

Als "Faustregel" für den melodischen Vorschlag gilt:

Der Notenwert eines solchen Vorschlages beträgt entweder 1/3 oder 1/4 der Hauptnote, abhängig von deren Länge. Für beide Formen jeweils ein Beispiel:

K173 (h-moll - Allegro)

Die Spielweise ist als folgt:

In diesem Falle hat die Hauptnote den Wert von 4 Sechzehnteln. Also bekommt der Vorschlag den Wert einer Sechzehntel und der Hauptton wird um eben diesen Wert verkürzt. Der Sinn solcher Vorschläge besteht darin, dass der agogische Akzent auf dem Hauptton liegen bleibt und in solchen Fällen nicht auf der Zählzeit steht. Das sorgt für ein lebendiges rhythmisches und klangliches Bild.

K181 (A-Dur - Allegro)

Die Spielweise ist als folgt:

Der Hauptton hat eine Länge von drei Achtelnoten. So bekommt der Vorschlag den Wert einer Achtelnote und der Hauptton wird um eben diesen Wert verkürzt. Für die agogischen Akzente gilt das oben Gesagte. Das rhythmische Hauptmotiv in dieser Sonate ist dieses:

Diese Sonate verfügt über ein ganz deutlich definiertes zweites Thema, das insgesamt sechsmal erscheint, und zwar auf fünf verschiedenen Tonstufen. Hier das Beispiel für das erste und das zweite Erscheinen:

Scarlatti hatte schon vor seiner spanischen Periode ein Cembalo in Gebrauch, dessen Umfang nach unten um eine Quarte erweitert war. In K6 und K7 oder auch in K26 z.B. ist das deutlich zu sehen.

Ab den spanischen Sonaten (also ab K96) wurde ein größerer Umfang des Cembalos vorgeschrieben als der gebräuchliche (C-c'''), und zwar nach oben um eine Quinte und nach unten um eine Quarte (G'- g'''). Es ist bekannt, dass der spanische Hof über viele Instrumente verfügt hat, unter anderem auch über Klavichorde, die Vorläufer des Klaviers. Das einzige Instrument am spanischen Hofe, das den vorgeschriebenen Umfang tatsächlich aufzuweisen hatte, ist ein einmanualiges Cembalo. So ist anzunehmen, dass dieses Scarlattis Lieblingsinstrument gewesen ist. Ab K387 ist der Umfang dieses Cembalos in der Tiefe bis zum F' erweitert worden. Am portugiesischen Hof hatte es ein solches Instrument nicht gegeben. Warum sollte übrigens ein Komponist Töne vorschreiben, die auf einem Instrument nicht bestehen? Seine Sonaten ab K96 sind also vermutlich für dieses Instrument komponiert worden. Es ist leider unbekannt, über welches Instrument Scarlatti in seinen vier Jahren in Sevilla verfügt hat. So kann aufgrund des Umfanges doch nicht genau festgestellt werden, ab welcher Sonate Scarlatti am spanischen Hof verweilt hat.

Ein anderer Hinweis auf Scarlattis mehr modales Denken sind die schon kurz erwähnten und von Anfang an regelmäßig und strukturell erscheinenden Quintparallelen, die in der Tonalität bekanntlich verboten sind. Es ist Unsinn, zu glauben, dass ein Komponist mit seinen Qualitäten so oft "unbewusst" solche "Fehler" gemacht haben sollte. Diese Quintparallelen sind ganz bewusst eingesetzt worden. Ein herausragendes Beispiel, stellvertretend für viele, aus K96 (D-Dur - Allegrissimo):

Als Beispiel für den geistigen Zustand gewisser musikalischer Kreise sei hier eine Vergewaltigung eben dieser Stelle mitgeteilt, die aus dem Internet herunter geladen ist und offensichtlich einer gedruckten Ausgabe entnommen ist:

Beim "Bearbeiter" handelt es sich also um einen Musiktheoretiker, der sich bemüßigt gefühlt hat, die "primitiven Fehler" (=Quintparallelen) Scarlattis zu "verbessern". Musiktheoretiker zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass sie von der Tonalität nichts und von der Modalität rein gar nichts verstehen. So geraten sie laufend in Erklärungsnöte und wissen sich nicht zu helfen. Er hat also dazu "komponiert", was seiner Ansicht nach Scarlatti vorgeschwebt haben muss. Scarlatti selbst scheint jedoch zur Umsetzung dieser ihm angedichteten Ideen glücklicherweise nicht in der Lage gewesen zu sein. Das Ergebnis ist - gelinde gesagt - eine Missachtung des großen Komponisten und eine bewusste Fälschung und Vergewaltigung seines Werkes. Leider ist die Quelle im Internet nicht angegeben. Es handelt sich jedoch vermutlich um eine ältere Ausgabe, was schon daraus zu schließen ist, dass die Sonaten alle möglichen Titel tragen, nur nicht den einzig richtigen, nämlich "Sonate".

Ein weiteres Beispiel für strukturelle Quintenparallelen ist in der später zu besprechenden Sonate K394 zu finden.

Andere, mehr versteckte Beispiele findet man z.B. in K21 in den Takten 30 und 34.

In einigen Sonaten gibt es kadenzartige Passagen wie z.B. in K33 oder auch wieder in K394, wo eine wirkliche Kadenz erscheint, ein Unikum in Scarlattis Werk und auch für die Zeit. Diese Kadenzen und kadenzartigen Passagen sind rhythmisch frei zu interpretieren.

In einigen Sonaten wie etwa K33, K101 oder K155 trifft man merkwürdige Unisono-Passagen an. Im Falle von K101 erklären diese bei ihrem ersten Erscheinen die spanische Zigeunertonleiter, die anders strukturiert ist als die ungarische. Die spanische Zigeunertonleiter ist eine Alteration des phrygischen Modus:

E und A sind die Haupttöne, wobei E der Grundton ist. Auch das stammt natürlich aus der Modalität. Die Töne G und D wurden hochalteriert, um als Leittöne zu den Haupttönen fungieren zu können. Schon die Tatsache, dass die spanische Zigeunertonleiter älter ist als die Tonalität, beweist deren Modalität. Hier das Beispiel aus K101 (A-Dur - Allegro):

Im Übrigen ist die Wechselwirkung zwischen Dissonanten und Konsonanten eine der meisterlichsten Eigenschaften in Scarlattis Musik.

Die "normale" Einteilung der Musik seiner Zeit in vier- oder achttaktige Perioden wird von Scarlatti öfter als bei anderen Komponisten der Fall war, durch asymmetrische Perioden ersetzt, also drei- oder fünftaktig z.B. Im Beispiel aus K101 wird das deutlich. Die Wiederholung der ersten viertaktigen Periode ist zu einer fünftaktigen erweitert. Solche Erweiterungen oder Verkleinerungen von mehrtaktigen Perioden kommen sehr häufig vor und sind eines der Stilmittel Scarlattis, der dieses Mittel zur Erhöhung der musikalischen Spannung einsetzt. Das ist vor allem dem unkonventionellen Denken Scarlattis zuzuschreiben, findet jedoch auch wieder seine Entsprechung in der spanischen Volksmusik. Er war in der Tat der unkonventionellste aller Komponisten seiner Epoche und auch darum wohl der interessanteste. Ein Beispiel aus K383 zeigt die Irregularität in der Einteilung nach Takten:

Die erste siebentaktige Periode wird in ihrer Wiederholung auf vier Takte verkürzt. Danach folgt eine fünftaktige Periode, die in ihrer Wiederholung auf eine siebentaktige erweitert wird und dann durch einen Schlusstakt abgeschlossen wird.

Zur Metrik der Sonaten ist zu sagen, dass bei Scarlatti die ternären Metren weitaus in der Überzahl sind (3/8, 3/4, 6/8, manchmal 9/8 oder 12/8, wobei der 3/8-Takt am häufigsten erscheint). Regelmäßig erscheint die Hemiole 3/4 auf 6/8, z.B. in K96 (am Ende), in K153 oder K159, im Falle des 3/8-Taktes auf zwei Takte verteilt. Als Beispiel die letzten Takte von K96:

Im weiter obenstehenden Beispiel aus derselben Sonate beachte man die Hemiolen in der Oberstimme.

Es gibt eine Theorie, die behauptet, dass das ternäre Element dem menschlichen Grundgefühl am nächsten kommt. Andere Theorien bestreiten das. Vielleicht gibt es ja von Volk zu Volk gewisse Unterschiede. Wie dem auch sei, im Falle Scarlattis scheint hierför ein Hinweis zu liegen. Auch andere Komponisten in späteren Epochen hatten eine Vorliebe für ternäre Metren, zum Beispiel Frederic Chopin oder Alexander Skriabin.

Ein anderes wichtiges Element in Scarlattis Musik ist vielleicht am besten zu umschreiben mit dem Begriff "pausenlose Musik". Lediglich auf den Schlusstönen bei Halb- und Ganzschluss kommt der Fluss der Musik eben zur Ruhe. In einigen Sonaten erscheinen jedoch mehrere Halbschlüsse. Eine kurze Periode, bestehend aus wenigen Takten, wird ein- oder zweimal wiederholt, und zwar jedes Mal um einen Ganzton höher. Diese Stellen erscheinen meistens zu Anfang des zweiten Blockes und kommen in jeder Periode in Scarlattis Komponieren vor.