<
Domenico Scarlatti
Home Biography Contents Recordings Facsimile Scores Contact

The early Sonatas

Just imagine: the tonality has just been created that has grown to become the new standard for all composers of the Baroque era. Rameau had just been the first to formulate the strict laws of tonality. Scarlatti, too, surrendered entirely to tonality in the early period. This early period in Scarlatti's composing ranges from K1 to K95. It is also the only period of his career in which pieces for a solo instrument with harpsichord accompaniment were created, namely the sonatas K73, K77, K78, K80, K81, K88, K89, K90 and K91. It can be assumed that these sonatas were written at the Portuguese court, where apparently a member of the royal family played a melody instrument. The solo instrument was a violin, as can be clearly seen from the few double stops and chords in the solo part. These duo sonatas are conceived as the only sonatas to be accompanied by basso continuo. They are the most baroque sonatas in Scarlatti's oeuvre. This suggests that they are commissioned works. Where Scarlatti was able to compose freely, his works show completely different qualities. One should keep this point in mind. Through his employment first at the Portuguese and then at the Spanish court as a music teacher, Scarlatti was able to compose whatever he thought was right. Incidentally, some of these duo sonatas are composed in several movements and thats unique in Scarlatti's sonatas.

Even in this early period, the sonatas for solo harpsichord are much more interesting.

Scarlatti originally called these compositions "Essercizi" (K1 - K30) - that is, exercises, the term "sonata" appears afterwards in his manuscripts. This suggests that these compositions were originally created for teaching purposes. Their musical content, however, extends much further than that of the common etudes of later epochs - think of Czerny or Cramer, especially the etudes of Czerny, Beethoven's pupil, are of no great musical value. Scarlatti's sonatas - insofar as they are to be understood as exercises - are exercises both in terms of playing technique and music. Both elements are completely equal.

Regarding the musical aspect, it should first be noted that in this first period Scarlatti's concept of tonality was often based on the medieval modes. This means that Scarlatti understood the major scale as an alteration of the Mixolydian and the minor scale as an alteration of the Doric mode. This is evident from the key signatures:

- K4 and K8 e.g. are in g minor and have one flat as key signature;

- K20 e.g. is in E major and has three sharps as key signature, K26 is in A major and has two sharps. Etc.

Scarlatti did not really use the modes mentioned, but his understanding of major and minor as derivations from the modality is certainly interesting and gives food for thought, also where the interpretation is concerned.

Even in the later periods, this method of key signatures appears occasionally, especially at the beginning.

The formal layout of most of the early period sonatas is very simple. The pieces are in two parts, the second part is a variation of the first. Often the main motif appears at the beginning, which is then treated imitatively in the second voice. An example:

K2 (G major - Presto) (To the score)

Example K2

Bars 9-12 are the echo of bars 5-8. These echo effects play a major role in Scarlatti's music. Reference is made to it frequently in the following.

In the baroque period a distinction was made between the "genus diatonicum" and the "genus chromaticum". The terms speak for themselves. In the genus diatonicum mainly the notes of the prevailing scale were used, in the genus chromaticum all chromatic notes. The genus chromaticum was used to convey feelings of great pain. Scarlatti used the genus chromaticum very seldom and when he did, then only in places. An example can be found in

K3 (a minor - Presto) (To the score)

Example K3

Another example of the genus chromaticum can be found in the fugue K58 (To the score). Incidentally, this sonata is a true polyphonic masterpiece and also one of the very few minor sonatas that end with a major chord. As an example, the first bars:

Example K58

As an example for the virtuoso treatment of chord breaks, K10 (d minor - Presto) (To the score) may serve:

Example K10

There are regular passages in Scarlatti's sonatas where one hand is in absolute counter-rhythm to the other. An early example is K14 (G major - Presto) (To the score):

Example K14

Incidentally, this sonata is the first tarantella in Scarlatti's work.

In K32 (d minor) (To the score) the minuet type appears for the first time in Scarlatti's sonatas. This short piece is of such melodic beauty that Scarlatti called it "Aria" rather than "Minuet". This beautiful piece deserves to be quoted in full:

Example K32 page 1

Example K32 page 2

In some of the early sonatas the "Neapolitan sixth" appears, not only as a cadenza but also, which is remarkable, as a loose melody tone. Both forms appear in K34 (D minor - Larghetto) (To the score)::

Example K34

The cadence appears in bars 21-24, the loose melody tone in bar 27.

The Sonata K62 (To the score) is not in the right place in the Kirkpatrick catalog. Stylistically, this sonata belongs to a later period, namely the early Spanish period. Bars 19-30 prove that:

Example K62

Typical for the early period is rather K72 (To the score), a celebration of the joy of playing:

Example K72

The fugue K87 (To the score) is undoubtedly one of Scarlatti's strangest compositions. The usual structure (one-part, two-part, three-part, four-part) is not present. From the beginning there is four voices. There are also several themes. This piece is both a fugue and also not a fugue:

Example K87

Copyright © John Sankey 1999

The disadvantages of Sankey's notation program become clear again here.

A strange passage from the minuet K94 (To the score) must not go unannounced. As if out of nowhere in the completely "normal" course of the music suddenly a place appears where the peculiar chromatic melody course lets the "ordinary" harmonization appear in an iridescent light:

Example K94

If one compares K95, the last sonata of the early period, with K96, the first sonata of the Spanish period, one could speak of a stylistic break with a little bad will. However, this is not the case, one should speak of a style enrichment. What Scarlatti owes to the knowledge of Spanish folk music and thus the musical world Scarlatti is examined in the following chapter.

 

back

Die frühen Sonaten

Man stelle sich vor: Soeben ist die Tonalität entstanden, die allen Komponisten der Barockepoche zum neuen Standard erwachsen ist. Rameau hatte gerade als erster die strengen Gesetze der Tonalität formuliert. Auch Scarlatti gab sich in der frühen Periode ganz der Tonalität hin. Diese frühe Periode im Komponieren Scarlattis reicht von K1 bis K95. Es ist auch die einzige Periode seines Schaffens, in der Stücke für ein Soloinstrument mit Cembalobegleitung entstanden sind, nämlich die Sonaten K73, K77, K78, K80, K81, K88, K89, K90 und K91. Es ist anzunehmen, dass diese Sonaten am portugiesischen Hof entstanden sind, wo offensichtlich ein Mitglied der königlichen Familie ein Melodieinstrument bespielte. Bei dem Soloinstrument hat es sich um eine Violine gehandelt, wie aus den wenigen Doppelgriffen und Akkorden in der Solostimme deutlich ersichtlich ist. Als einzige Sonaten sind diese Duosonaten in der Begleitung im Generalbass konzipiert. Sie sind die am meisten barocken Sonaten in Scarlattis Gesamtwerk. Das legt den Schluss nahe, dass sie Auftragswerke sind. Wo Scarlatti frei komponieren konnte, weisen seine Werke ganz andere Qualitäten auf. Diesen Punkt sollte man deutlich im Auge behalten. Durch seine Anstellungen zuerst am portugiesischen und danach am spanischen Hofe als Musiklehrer war Scarlatti in der Lage, völlig frei komponieren zu können, was immer er für richtig erachtet hat. Im Übrigen sind unter diesen Duosonaten einige, die mehrsätzig angelegt sind, ein Unikum bei Scarlattis Sonaten.

Viel interessanter sind schon in dieser frühen Periode die Sonaten für Cembalo solo.

Ursprünglich nannte Scarlatti diese Kompositionen "Essercizi" - also Übungen, der Terminus "Sonate" taucht erst danach in seinen Manuskripten auf. Das legt den Schluss nahe, dass diese Kompositionen zunächst zu Unterrichtszwecken entstanden sind. Ihr musikalischer Gehalt reicht jedoch viel weiter als der der landläufigen Etüden späterer Epochen - man denke etwa an Czerny oder Cramer, vor allem die Etüden Czernys, des Beethovenschülers, sind ohne großen musikalischen Wert. Die Sonaten Scarlattis - soweit man sie als Übungen verstehen will - sind Übungen sowohl in spieltechnischer als auch in musikalischer Hinsicht. Beide Elemente sind völlig gleichberechtigt.

Zum musikalischen Aspekt ist zunächst einmal festzustellen, dass in dieser ersten Periode Scarlattis Tonalitätsbegriff oft noch auf die mittelalterlichen Modi gegründet ist. Das heißt, dass Scarlatti die Dur-Tonleiter als eine Alteration des mixolydischen und die Molltonleiter als eine Alteration des dorischen Modus begriffen hat. Das geht schon aus der Vorzeichnung hervor:

- Die Sonaten K4 und K8 z.B. stehen in g-moll und haben ein b als Vorzeichen;

- Die Sonate K20 z.B. steht in E-Dur und hat drei Kreuze als Vorzeichen, K26 steht in A-Dur und hat zwei Kreuze vorgezeichnet. Usw.

Scarlatti hat die genannten Modi nicht wirklich verwendet, sein Verständnis von Dur und Moll als Ableitungen aus der Modalität ist jedoch sicher interessant und gibt Stoff zum Nachdenken, auch wo es die Interpretation betrifft.

Auch in den späteren Perioden taucht diese Vorzeichnungsweise noch gelegentlich auf, vor allem zu Beginn.

Der Formplan der meisten Sonaten der frühen Periode ist denkbar einfach. Die Stücke sind zweiteilig angelegt, der zweite Teil ist eine Variation des ersten. Oft erscheint zu Beginn das Hauptmotiv, das dann in der zweiten Stimme imitatorisch behandelt wird. Ein Beispiel:

Sonate K2 (G-Dur - Presto) (Zur Partitur)

Beispiel K2

Die Takte 9-12 sind das Echo der Takte 5-8. Diese Echowirkungen spielen bei Scarlatti eine große Rolle. Im Folgenden wird öfters darauf verwiesen werden.

In der Barockperiode wurde unterschieden zwischen dem "genus diatonicum" und dem "genus chromaticum". Die Begriffe sprechen für sich selbst. Im genus diatonicum wurden hauptsächlich die Töne der jeweils vorherrschenden Tonleiter gebraucht, im genus chromaticum alle chromatischen Töne. Das genus chromaticum wurde verwendet, um Gefühlen großen Schmerzes Ausdruck zu verleihen. Scarlatti hat das genus chromaticum sehr selten verwendet und wenn, dann nur stellenweise. Ein Beispiel findet sich in

K3 (a-moll - Presto) (Zur Partitur)

Beispiel K3

Ein weiteres Beispiel für das genus chromaticum ist in der Fuge K58 (Zur Partitur) zu finden. Diese Sonate ist im Übrigen eine wahre polyphonische Meisterleistung und außerdem eine der ganz wenigen Moll-Sonaten, die mit einem Dur-Akkord enden. Als Beispiel die ersten Takte:

Beispiel K58

Als Beispiel für die virtuose Behandlung von Akkordbrechungen möge die Sonate K10 (d-moll - Presto)  (Zur Partitur)dienen:

Beispiel K10

Regelmäßig erscheinen in Scarlattis Sonaten Stellen, wo die eine Hand im absoluten Gegenrhythmus zur anderen steht. Ein frühes Beispiel ist die Sonate K14 (G-Dur - Presto): (Zur Partitur)

Beispiel K14

Diese Sonate ist im Übrigen die erste Tarantella in Scarlattis Werk.

In der Sonate K32 (d-moll) (Zur Partitur) erscheint zum ersten Mal in Scarlattis Sonaten der Typus des Menuetts. Dieses kurze Stück ist von einer solchen melodischen Schönheit, dass Scarlatti es "Aria" und nicht "Menuett" genannt hat. Dieses wunderschöne Stück verdient es, um ungekürzt zitiert zu werden:

Beispiel K32

In einigen der frühen Sonaten erscheint die "neapolitanische Sexte", jedoch nicht als nur als Kadenz, sondern auch, was bemerkenswert ist, als los stehender Melodieton. Beide Formen erscheinen in der Sonate K34 (d-moll - Larghetto) (Zur Partitur):

Beispiel K34

In den Takten 21 - 24 erscheint die Kadenz, im Takt 27 der losstehende Melodieton.

Die Sonate K62  (Zur Partitur) steht im Kirkpatrick-Katalog nicht auf dem richtigen Platz. Stilistisch gesehen, gehört diese Sonate einer späteren Periode an, nämlich der frühen spanischen Periode. Die Takte 19-30 beweisen das:

Beispiel K62

Typisch für die frühe Periode ist eher die Sonate K72, (Zur Partitur) ein Fest der Spielfreude:

Beispiel K72

Die Fuge K87 (Zur Partitur) ist zweifellos eine der merkwürdigsten Kompositionen Scarlattis. Den gewöhnlichen Fugenaufbau (einstimmig, zweistimmig, dreistimmig, vierstimmig) sucht man hier vergebens. Von Anfang an herrscht Vierstimmigkeit. Daneben gibt es mehrere Themen. Dieses Stück ist zugleich eine Fuge und auch wieder keine Fuge:

Beispiel K87

Copyright © John Sankey 1999

Die Nachteile von Sankeys Notationsart werden hier noch einmal deutlich.

Nicht unvermeldet darf eine merkwürdige Stelle aus dem Menuett K94 (Zur Partitur) bleiben. Wie aus dem Nichts erscheint im völlig "normalen" Verlauf der Musik plötzlich eine Stelle, wo der eigenartige chromatische Melodieverlauf die an sich "gewöhnliche" Harmonisierung in einem irisierenden Licht erscheinen lässt:

alt="Beispiel K94"

Vergleicht man die Sonate K95, die letzte Sonate der frühen Periode, mit der Sonate K96, der ersten Sonate der spanischen Periode, so könnte man bei einigem bösen Willen von einem Stilbruch sprechen. Das ist jedoch nicht der Fall, man sollte von einer Stilbereicherung sprechen. Was Scarlatti der Kenntnis der spanischen Volksmusik und damit die musikalische Welt Scarlatti zu verdanken hat, wird im folgenden Kapitel untersucht.

 

zurück