Domenico Scarlatti
Home Biography Contents Recordings Facsimile Scores Contact

The middle period

From K300 to K399 we are talking about a period in Scarlatti's composition that is characterized by the pursuit of the greatest possible musical transparency and clarity. Just compare the scores of K299 and K300. A difference like day and night. This "style break", which is not one, is just as radical as the already discussed "style break" between K95 and K96. Most of the sonatas in this middle period are in major. That alone suggests that it concerns a happy period in Scarlatti's life. In all other periods, major and minor are roughly in balance. The virtuosity takes a back seat, but that doesn't mean that these sonatas are technically easy to play. The virtuoso never denies himself. Only the virtuosity is limited to individual passages and the clarity of the musical statement is the primary goal. In no other period is the musical transparency as clear as in this one. Most of the pieces are essentially two-part, chords rarely appear, and now and then three parts are achieved. The influences of Spanish folk music also fade into the background. Sometimes only a single passage reminds of Scarlatti's love for this music.

In this middle and also in the late period I content myself with the precise analysis of one sonata each time, as a substitute for all the others. Other sonatas of this middle period are quoted in the chapter "General Remarks".

K394 (E minor - Allegro) (To the score) is chosen as a representative for all sonatas of the middle period. Mainly because a formal phenomenon appears here that is absolutely unique for the time, namely the first real and very virtuoso solo cadenza in music history. Furthermore, the seldom interrupted two-part voice is typical of this period. This applies especially to the first part. After the cadenza, the second part is initially three-part, and then returns to two-part. Every now and then chords appear too. All of Scarlatti's art of modulation comes to the fore after the cadence. The entire sonata is cited here:

K394 page 1

K394 page 2

K394 page 3

K394 page 4

K394 page 5

K394 page 6

First of all, it should be noted that the passage with the parallel fifths from bar 76 is not correctly notated. Unfortunately, I am not familiar with the manuscript. In the Gilbert edition, this passage reads as follows:

The correct notation should look like this:

The modulation moves from F minor to E flat minor and ends on the dominant B flat. The way it is then modulated back to E minor is unique. Via E flat major, C minor, A flat major, F minor, A flat major, C minor is finally reached. After two bars on the dominant G (from bar 98) an enharmonic transformation of the diminished triad of the 2nd degree of C minor appears. D-f-a flat is transformed into d-f-g sharp, the 2nd inversion of the diminished triad of the 7th degree of A major. The four-bar period of bars 98-101 is repeated a whole tone higher, then the basic key E minor is reached again, which is then no longer left.

Another extremely interesting point is the cadence after the half-close. In the sonata, which is otherwise relatively simple, this outbreak of unbridled virtuosity suddenly appears. The cadence is in two parts. Without modulation, two keys that are far apart from each other are set next to each other, namely A major and F major. The A major passage moves in sixteenth notes, in the F major passage the movement is accelerated even further by the use of 32th notes. The return to simple design could only be made musically credible through the complicated modulations already discussed. These are the signs of genius.

 

back

Ab K300 bis K399 sprechen wir über eine Periode im Komponieren Scarlattis, die vom Streben nach der größtmöglichen musikalischen Durchsichtigkeit und Klarheit geprägt ist. Man vergleiche einmal das Partiturbild von K299 und K300. Ein Unterschied wie Tag und Nacht. Dieser "Stilbruch", der jedoch keiner ist, ist ebenso radikal wie der schon besprochene "Stilbruch" zwischen K95 und K96. Die meisten Sonaten dieser mittleren Periode stehen in Dur. Schon das lässt vermuten, dass es eine glückliche Periode im Leben Scarlattis betrifft. In allen anderen Perioden halten sich Dur und Moll ungefähr die Waage. Die Virtuosität tritt etwas in den Hintergrund, was jedoch nicht heißt, dass diese Sonaten technisch gesehen einfach zu spielen wären. Der Virtuose verleugnet sich nie. Nur ist die Virtuosität beschränkt auf einzelne Stellen und die Klarheit der musikalischen Aussage ist das vorrangige Ziel. In keiner anderen Periode ist die musikalische Transparenz so deutlich wie in dieser. Die meisten Stücke sind im Wesen zweistimmig gehalten, Akkorde kommen wenig vor, ab und zu wird Dreistimmigkeit erreicht. Auch die Einflüsse der spanischen Volksmusik treten in den Hintergrund. Manchmal erinnert nur eine einzelne Stelle an Scarlattis Liebe zu dieser Musik.

In dieser mittleren und auch der späten Periode begnüge ich mich mit der genauen Analyse jeweils einer Sonate, dies stellvertretend für alle anderen. Im Kapitel "Allgemeine Bemerkungen" sind andere Sonaten dieser mittleren Periode zitiert.

Stellvertretend für alle Sonaten der mittleren Periode ist K394 (e-moll - Allegro) gewählt. Das vor allem darum, weil hier ein formales Phänomen erscheint, das für die Zeit absolut einmalig ist, nämlich die erste echte und sehr virtuose Solokadenz in der Musikgeschichte überhaupt. Des Weiteren ist die nur selten unterbrochene Zweistimmigkeit typisch für diese Periode. Das betrifft vor allem den ersten Teil. Der zweite Teil ist nach der Kadenz zunächst dreistimmig gehalten, um dann wieder zur Zweistimmigkeit zurückzukehren. Hin und wieder erscheinen auch Akkorde. Die ganze Modulationskunst Scarlattis kommt nach der Kadenz zum Vorschein. Die gesamte Sonate wird hier abgedruckt:

Zunächst ist einmal festzustellen, dass die Stelle mit den Quintparallelen ab Takt 76 nicht korrekt notiert ist. Mir ist das Manuskript leider nicht bekannt. In der Gilbert-Ausgabe lautet diese Stelle so:

Die korrekte Notation müsste so aussehen:

Die Modulation bewegt sich von f-moll nach es-moll und endet auf der Dominante B. Wie danach nach e-moll zurückmoduliert wird, ist einzigartig. Über Es-dur, c-moll, As-Dur, f-moll, As-dur wird schließlich c-moll erreicht. Nach zwei Takten auf der Dominante G (ab Takt 98) erscheint eine enharmonische Umformung des verminderten Dreiklanges der 2. Stufe von c-moll. D-f-as wird umgeformt in d-f-gis, die 2. Umkehrung des verminderten Dreiklanges der 7. Stufe von A-Dur. Die viertaktige Periode der Takte 98 - 101 wird einen Ganzton höher wiederholt, dann ist die Grundtonart e-moll wieder erreicht, die dann auch nicht mehr verlassen wird.

Ein weiterer äußerst interessanter Punkt ist die Kadenz nach dem Halbschluss. In der im Übrigen relativ einfach gestalteten Sonate erscheint hier urplötzlich dieser Ausbruch von ungebremster Virtuosität. Die Kadenz ist zweiteilig. Ohne Modulationen werden zwei voneinander weit entfernte Tonarten nebeneinander gesetzt, nämlich A-Dur und F-Dur. Die A-dur-Passage bewegt sich in Sechzehnteln, in der F-Dur-Passage wird die Bewegung durch den Gebrauch von 32-teln noch weiter verschnellt. Die Rückkehr zur einfachen Gestaltung konnte nur durch die schon besprochenen komplizierten Modulationen musikalisch glaubhaft gemacht werden. Das sind die Zeichen des Genies.